Treasure

Psalm 100:4

Enter his gates with thanksgiving
and his courts with praise;
give thanks to him and praise his name.

Listen to “Inside” by Jared Anderson as you read this post

Scripture – 2 Corinthians 4:7

“But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us”

Observation

Today I am really feeling like a jar of clay.  I got home at 12:30am this morning after our staff NFL Fantasy Football draft…and 5:00am came around with alarming haste. It is only in God’s power that my desire to be with Him this morning far overshadowed my desire to continue sleeping. The treasure to which this verse refers is “the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ”. So Paul is stating that having known and accepted Christ, we are now able to taste and experience the glory of God, and the fact that our frail, fragile, o-so-easily-broken bodies and minds are able to contain such a treasure, is truly a merciful act of God’s power.

Application

What does this mean for me, practically? The very fact that under all normal circumstances, my mind and body should be blown to smithereens under the truth that the Spirit of God now dwells within me, makes me really thankful that I am in fact, still in one piece.  It translates into a veritable fear of the Lord – that I so desire His indwelling of me, yet I am all the too aware of my frailty. I need his daily mercy and grace to continue to walk in His power and not my own.

Prayer

Jesus, I pray that you would demonstrate your power through this jar of clay. Help me get out of the way and brace myself for what you really want to do with a yielded vessel.  For your glory. Amen.

Leave a Reply

