Becoming a disciple: Refusing to gossip

 

Scripture – Psalm 15:1-3

1 LORD, who may dwell in your sacred tent?
Who may live on your holy mountain?

2 The one whose walk is blameless,
who does what is righteous,
who speaks the truth from their heart;
3 whose tongue utters no slander,

Observation

His presence. In his presence. It’s where we were made to be. We were made to walk without blame and to speak only truth from our hearts.

Through sin we have been corrupted. We have been found wanting. We have fallen short. Jesus offers us a new life when we accept his payment for our sin and the sins of our fathers.

This psalm highlights God’s hatred for slander. Slander can be defined as “any false or defamatory words spoken about a person” or in our common vernacular, “gossip”. Gossiping cannot be part of a blameless walk or someone who does what is righteous. The temptation to gossip about someone should be severely quashed by the fear of the Lord.

Application

Simple. Let each one of us actually be aware of what we are saying. Count the cost of each word. Most of us gossip most days but God shows us in this psalm that gossip and slander are not the way to get into his presence. Throughout scripture, God is described over and over as HOLY. Nothing impure of unclean can be near him.

We need to look at our hearts this morning. Maybe the person we find ourselves talking about is the person God is asking us to pray for, to show kindness to and to bless.

Prayer

Father in heaven, I am ashamed of the times I have spoken of others with anything but love. I detest the things you detest. By the power of your Holy Spirit, show me my words and teach me to be a man whose walk is blameless, whose actions are righteous and whose tongue is far from slanderous. You did not pay the price for my life for me to speak slander or whisper gossip. Create in me a clean heart and purify my lips. I am an ambassador of Christ; never let me forget who I am representing. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

