Becoming a disciple: Weighing our words

Scripture – Numbers 22:38

“Well, I have come to you now,” Balaam replied. “But I can’t say whatever I please. I must speak only what God puts in my mouth.”

Observation

Balaam so feared God that he knew his life would not be worth living if he dared speak something contrary to the word of God, no matter what the potential prize was. It confused Balak that Balaam was so quick to tell him that there was nothing he could do as far as cursing the Israelites. Obviously Balak just saw the man of God as someone who offered a service; he offered some money or goods or land and the man of God would just ask his “puppet-god” to curse so-and-so or bless so-and-so.

Many people today either see God as powerless or as a far off deity that grants ‘wishes’ to a few ‘holy people’. So naturally, if you have the means and you really want something, but you don’t have the time or energy to be really ‘holy’, then surely you can just ask one of the godly people you know to ask for a favor on your behalf. It seems ridiculous but I think that many people view God this way.

Application

Do we really fear God? Are we even sure what that even means?

What if someone offered us a million dollars to say a little curse over someone? How often do we curse people without even knowing it? Do we really understand the power of our words?

Having a relationship with Jesus gives us access to all the things of God. We must have awesome respect for God and take heed from Balaam’s story by weighing every word.

Prayer

Jesus, I am completely yours. Show me the power of my words and let me not be tricked into foolishly using my relationship with you to my own gain. Keep curses far from my lips and teach me to fear you more and more. You are my God, an awesome God. Purify my heart today and fill me with wisdom beyond my years or understanding. I love you. In your name, amen.

Leave a Reply

