Becoming a disciple: Choosing holiness

Scripture – Numbers 25:1-3

While Israel was staying in Shittim, the men began to indulge in sexual immorality with Moabite women, 2 who invited them to the sacrifices to their gods. The people ate the sacrificial meal and bowed down before these gods. 3 So Israel yoked themselves to the Baal of Peor. And the LORD’s anger burned against them.

Observation

God hates sexual immorality.

God hates it when his people worship something other than Him.

God gets really angry with those who indulge in these things.

Application

I love God. I am his son. I choose to hate the things he hates and love the things he loves. I desire to become more like him each day. Jesus has rescued me from my old life and he has opened my eyes to the truth. Therefore as one of God’s people, I must live differently. My life must reflect the price that was paid for it on the cross 2000 years ago.

Despite how the world has watered down sexual immorality in the media and how rife it is in our culture, I choose to hate it.

Despite how the world is full of idolatry and temptations to worship things and people other than Jesus, I choose to hate the very idea.

God is holy. He wants us to be holy. He has given us his Holy Spirit who enables us to live set apart from the status quo.

Tempted to get into a relationship with someone who is not your spouse? Run to God.

Tempted to view something in this world as better than God? Worship.

Prayer

Jesus, you are alive! You hate sexual immorality and you hate idolatry. But you love people. Let not those who call themselves your followers even get close to either of these things. Our lives are a testimony to your compassion and mercy so help us to avoid living lives that make you angry. I desire to be holy as you are holy and I invite you again today to purify anything that is not holy in my life. May I be zealous for the things you love. In your name, amen.

Leave a Reply

