Becoming a disciple: Understanding Jesus’ heart of a father

Scripture – Mark 9:36

He took a little child whom he placed among them. Taking the child in his arms, he said to them, 37 “Whoever welcomes one of these little children in my name welcomes me; and whoever welcomes me does not welcome me but the one who sent me.”

Observation

Although Jesus was never a ‘natural’ father while on earth, he has the heart of the Father. He was talking to his twelve friends and disciples – all young and zealous and being prepared to take on the world. Jesus brings in a little boy or a little girl and puts them on his lap. The disciples are trying to figure out in their heads why he is wasting precious time they could be talking about real ‘kingdom’ stuff to hang out with a little kid. He then tells them that welcoming a child is welcoming him, helping a child is helping him, loving a child is loving him.

I know Jesus would have loved to be a “real dad” on earth but it was not part of the assignment. He knows the feeling of wanting to have kids of his own, and he loves children more than we could ever comprehend. Children are so important to him, he wants every believer to know how he feels – and so he tells his disciples that welcoming, helping and loving a child is doing the same to him.

Application

I am blessed to be a father. I must never take my children for granted. I must never forget my children are my greatest ministry. Jesus loves it when I delight in my kids, when I comfort them, when I encourage them, when I protect them, when I teach them.

Prayer

Jesus, I know how much you must have wanted to be a dad on earth. Thank you for blessing me with children. Let me raise my children as you would. Teach me and show me. You are invited into every area of my life and every area of the lives of my children. I am thankful that you are teaching and loving the children who are with you in heaven today. Thank you for sweet revelation from your word and encouragement to my soul. You are my king and my friend. In your name, amen.

Leave a Reply

