Becoming a disciple: Finding delight in God

Scripture – Psalm 37:4

Delight yourself in the LORD,
and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Observation

Delight. Joy. Enjoyment. Vulnerable. Rest. Guard is down.

We must find these things in God. It’s easy to find the rules in God, the illustrative teachings in God, the Creator in God. But it’s not easy, especially for men, to simply “delight” ourselves in God. We must learn to take off our hats, our masks, our armor and our fear in order to truly trust that we can completely trust and rest and delight ourselves in the Trinity.

Application

In doing so, the things we desire are refined and re-calibrated so that they change their shape, bending around the primary desire to see God receive glory.

Then, as the Scripture says, these purified desires of our heart (as our heart is begins to beat the same rhythm as His) are given to us.

So, practically speaking, let us consider the current desires of our hearts. Let us find rest and vulnerability and put down our guard in the presence of God. Let us re-shape our desires, having given them over totally to him.

God is good at it. He has been doing it a long time.

Prayer

Jesus, you know the desires of my heart. My life is no longer my own because I was bought with the price of your blood. Help me be vulnerable and unguarded in your presence today and everyday. May I truly find my delight in you, and not in any amount of worldly pleasure, knowledge, wisdom, achievement or success. You are my delight. I trust you to give me the desires you cultivate in my heart for your glory. In your name, amen.

Leave a Reply

