Becoming a disciple: Living in freedom through the Spirit

Scripture – 2 Corinthians 3:17

Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.

Observation

The Holy Spirit is God. He is everywhere. He lives inside us. His main focus is to point people towards Jesus – the only way to be saved. We can worship and live for God in the freedom we find in His Spirit. This freedom in the Spirit means there is no longer anything that can hold us down; no shackles to sin, no chains to addiction, no weights of self-pity.

Application

I need to remember this. It is for freedom that Christ has set me free. His Spirit gives me new freedom each day to pursue God without hindrance to my old way of living, of thinking, of being. I am free.

Prayer

Papa, thank you for setting me free through the blood of Jesus. Thank you for living in my through your Spirit and reminding me of that grace and freedom I so desperately need. Help me live free today. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

