Becoming a disciple: Content with weaknesses

Scripture – 2 Corinthians 12:10

For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities.

Observation

It’s not for my own sake that I am called by God to be content with weaknesses.

It’s not for my own sake that I am called by God to be content with insults, hardships, persecutions and calamities.

It’s for Jesus’ sake.

I have to be honest. I don’t like being weak. I don’t enjoy being insulted. I don’t want any calamities to ever happen to me or my family.

Application

I want Jesus to show up strong every time I am weak or insulted or persecuted. Not for my sake, but for his. I want him to be seen as the most incredible, awesome, powerful, merciful, gracious, forgiving and loving person in history. If my weaknesses can help that, I’m all in.

Prayer

Jesus, be strong in my weakness today. Imprint onto my heart and brain the fact that it is for your sake that I am called to be content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. Find me willing to be weak for your sake. Let me not forget to give you glory when you show yourself strong. In your name, amen.

Leave a Reply

