Becoming a disciple: Feeding the soul with the best light

Scripture – Matthew 6:22-23

“The eye is the lamp of the body. So, if your eye is healthy, your whole body will be full of light, but if your eye is bad, your whole body will be full of darkness.”

Observation

What we look at goes down further than we think. The phrase “the eyes are the window of the soul” is well-known, but I’m not sure how much most of us really understand it in a practical way. If we look at darkness, or things that fuel darkness, our eyes will become dark and will only let out darkness. If we look at light, or things that fuel light, our eyes will become light and will only let out light.

Application

I want for my eyes to give off only light. I want them to show a vibrant, pure light; not a dingy light that is compromised by darkness.

I don’t look at “bad” stuff – but what Jesus is saying here challenges me to be intentional about what I put in front of my eyes and therefore what I let into my heart and soul. He is calling me to a higher standard of righteousness – not just avoiding putting bad stuff in front of my eyes, but rather looking for the best quality of light that I can put into my soul via my eyes – intentional feeding of the light that people will see through my eyes and through my life.

Prayer

Jesus, lead me to good sources of light. Your Word is the light to my feet. Thank you. Show me how to intentionally feed my soul through the things I read and watch. I take seriously the responsibility of being an ambassador of Christ so show me the best sources of light today. It’s all for you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

