Becoming a disciple: Stretching out a willing hand

Scripture – Matthew 8:2-3

And behold, a leper came to him and knelt before him, saying, “Lord, if you will, you can make me clean.” And Jesus stretched out his hand and touched him, saying, “I will; be clean.”

Observation

Jesus was willing to get his hands dirty. He was willing to touch someone that no-one else would even look at. He didn’t need to touch him – and the leper didn’t even expect him to. He could have just said the words.

But no. Jesus stretched out his hand.

He extended his hand – not just politely – but stretched it out so that he could touch him. I can imagine the great crowds that had followed him down the mountain were aghast, making his point of stretching his hand out to touch the leper even more poignant.

He was willing. It is an amazing example of how just by asking in faith we can see the will of God touch our lives.

Application

I want to be willing to touch the untouchables the way Jesus did. I don’t just want to accept them interrupting my day but rather to have a spirit where I am willing to stretch out my hand even when they aren’t really expecting it. Jesus is living out his sermon on his way down the mountain. He is asked to heal the leper and instead of saying “you’re healed” and walking away, he took the time to stretch out his hand. Wow.

Prayer

Father, give me the compassion you have for the people that need you. Teach me to be willing to stretch out my hand. Show me when to go the extra mile. Help me be a walking application of your word. It’s all for you. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

