Becoming a disciple: Being compassionate over being strategic

Scripture – Matthew 9:27-30

And as Jesus passed on from there, two blind men followed him, crying aloud, “Have mercy on us, Son of David.” When he entered the house, the blind men came to him, and Jesus said to them, “Do you believe that I am able to do this?” They said to him, “Yes, Lord.” Then he touched their eyes, saying, “According to your faith be it done to you.” And their eyes were opened. And Jesus sternly warned them, “See that no one knows about it.”

Observation

It’s really interesting that Jesus tells the two guys whose sight he’d just restored not to let anyone know about it. I’m thinking it’s going to be pretty obvious that the blind guys weren’t walking into things anymore or needing a stick to get about. The meaning of the word Jesus used as he “sternly warned them” is pretty strong – kind of a no-nonsense command. Why did he not want everyone and his dog know about these two guys receiving their sight? There is something significant about healing blindness – it was essentially affirming that he was the Messiah, fulfilling the prophecies about him coming to bring sight to the blind. This is the first time he healed someone who was blind, and he knew that as the word spread, people would want to proclaim him as the guy who was going to overthrow the Romans and establish his leadership of Israel.

So, if Jesus knew the two men who were healed were going to spread the news across the region, why did he heal them? Compassion. Jesus is full of compassion and when people come to him with faith and ask for him to touch them, even though it might make the mission more awkward or difficult, his love and compassion for people is what he’s all about.

Application

Even when I know stopping to talk with, pray for or just listen to someone, is going to hinder the greater vision and mission of what I’m trying to do, I know I need to allow the Holy Spirit to give me the compassion for people that Jesus has – because in the end, people are what we’re here for.

Prayer

Jesus, I need your compassion. Give me the peace I need to be un-strategic for the sake of having compassion on people. I am a vessel for you to use. Thank you for teaching me to be more like you each day. I love you mentoring and discipling me. All for you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

