Becoming a disciple: Minding our mouth

Scripture – Matthew 12:36-37

“I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak, for by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.”

Observation

There is power in words. Power to bring life and power to bring death. So important is it that we use our words with care, Jesus says that on the day of judgement we will give an account for every careless word. It’s easy to think that it cannot possibly be as big of a deal as he seems to be making it out to be. But Jesus does not waste words. The fact that he spoke it means that we need to take it to heart.

Application

I want to use my words wisely. I don’t want to waste them. I want them to produce life and not cause injury or death.

Prayer

Jesus, let your name always be on my lips. Let words of encouragement represent the majority of what comes out of my mouth. Use my words to build people up and not condemn nor belittle them. At your service today. Amen.

Leave a Reply

