Becoming a disciple: Understanding how much Jesus loves kids!

Scripture – Matthew 19:14

Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of heaven.”

Observation

Jesus loves kids. Jesus really loves kids. He rebukes his disciples from hindering them from getting close to him. He tells them that the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these. Maybe he meant that there are far more children in heaven than there are adults…maybe he meant that you must have childlike faith to even enter heaven…whatever he meant, it is clear that he does not what is to hinder children from coming to him.

I watch my nearly two-year old daughter run and dance in worship on Sundays in church and during the week at home. It reminds me of king David exclaiming “I will be even more undignified than this” when people chastised him from worshipping exuberantly. I never want to hinder her from expressing her worship.

Application

I want to be aware of Jesus. I want to be even more aware of how much He loves kids. How does that change my view of children’s ministry, kids worshipping down front on Sundays, kids in general? I need to take more time to talk with children, really listen to what they have to say, encourage and bless them, and remember not to squash their passion for worship for the sake of religion, tradition or decorum. Jesus love kids!

Prayer

Jesus, please give me your eyes today. Help me see children (my own and others’) the way you see them. I am yours. Amen.

Leave a Reply

