Becoming a disciple: Tutored by the Father

Scripture – Psalm 32:8

I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go;

I will counsel you with my eye upon you.

Observation

God is not expecting us to have it all together. He wants to be our teacher, he wants us to be our instructor and he wants to be our counselor. He wants us to understand that we need teaching, instruction and counseling. It’s ok that we don’t have it all together.

God says, “I will counsel you with my eye upon you”.

Being discipled by God is not like enrolling in some online university or doing a correspondence course, but it is personal, close. God has his eye on us, not in a surveillance kind of way, but in a father kind of way. He is our father. This is an amazing thing – we don’t have to struggle through the week and try and put on a good face for church on Sunday, and hope that we’ll get fixed up by osmosis as we hear the Bible preached and hang around other Christians.

Application

God is my Father. Jesus is my teacher. The Holy Spirit is my counselor. My Father has his eye on me always, I am never out of his mind. He is patient with me.

I want to converse with my Father continually throughout the day much more that I do now. He is watching me right now as I write this. He is close. His Spirit lives within me guiding me into living the way my Father desires. Day by day I become more like Jesus my Lord as I am transformed by his renewing of my mind.

Prayer

Father, instruct, teach and counsel me today. Invite me into more intimate conversations with you today. I want to know you more deeply and literally talk to you all day long. I think of Brother Lawrence. Help me talk to you like he did. On a side note – thank you for my mum today on Mother’s Day. She is amazing. Please bless her today as she travels to Greece. I love you Father. Amen.

Leave a Reply

