Good friends are mission-critical

Scripture – Ecclesiastes 4:9-10

Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil. For if they fall, one will lift up his fellow. But woe to him who is alone when he falls and has not another to lift him up!

Observation

Good friends are so important. Working with, serving with, and being accountable to at least one person who knows you inside out is critical.

We all fall. But will there be someone who notices that we’ve fallen and is swift to pick us up?

I am thankful for godly men who serve my family and my ministry by being my true brothers.

Application

Am I doing a good enough job of watching my brothers’ backs, checking in on them, keeping them from falling, and picking them up when they do fall?

Am I transparent and honest enough with those I call brother?

I know I need even greater depth of trust and relationship with the brothers in my life. It’s not a nice, cute Christian idea. It’s life-saving and mission-critical.

Prayer

Thank you Father for my brothers. Thank you for their input, their prayers, their counsel and their love. Let me never take them for granted and show me ways to continually invest and develop my relationships with these men of God. Help me be more honest, more transparent, more vulnerable, more willing. Thank you for speaking truth and life through them as you guide each of us. I want to run the race in such a way as to win the prize, with my family, my ministry and my sanity intact. I trust you and I lean on you today. In Jesus’ incredible name, amen.

Leave a Reply

