Don’t let foolishness ruin your reputation

Scripture – Ecclesiastes 10:1

  Dead flies make the perfumer’s ointment give off a stench;
   so a little folly outweighs wisdom and honor.

Observation

Just as one tiny sin irrevocably turns a blemish-free life into a sinful life, needing the one thing that can make it clean – the blood of Jesus, so it is true that one careless or stupid act can ruin a reputation, a family, a career or a ministry.

A little folly outweighs wisdom and honor. Lots of wisdom and honor is great. A thousand good deeds and kind words are great. But one word or act of foolishness can ruin it all.

Application

I need to have a supernatural awareness and a God-perspective of my life. 1 Corinthians 6 says that I have been bought with a price and am therefore no longer my own. I am God’s and he is mine. I need to be constantly thinking about the fact that God is using my life as a witness to those around me. I don’t have the luxury to act foolishly – there is too much at stake.

Prayer

Father, I love you. Thank you for loving me. Please give me a supernatural awareness of myself, my thoughts, my words and my actions from your perspective. I want to live a life marked with wisdom and honor. Please enable me to avoid even the smallest amount of foolishness. I want my life to be a fragrant offering to you, not a stench in your nose. I am yours. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

