Becoming a disciple: Strengthened by God

Scripture – Philippians 4:13

I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

Observation

Life can be overwhelming. The lists of tasks to be done never seems to get any shorter. The number of people that need help and guidance never seems to decrease. Sometimes I wonder how I’m going to do it all.

The truth is I can’t. On my own I can actually do very little.

God’s promise to me, through the apostle Paul, is that I will be able to do ALL THINGS through Jesus strengthening me.

This doesn’t mean that I will win the Pulitzer, the Nobel Peace Prize, get sixteen PhDs, build a submarine in my garage, live in every city in the world and live to 478 years old.

It does mean that God will give me the strength to do everything he puts in my life to do. It will never be too much for me as long as I trust him to provide the strength.

Application

I know that as I get older, as my family grows and as my ministry responsibilities increase, I will still only have 24 hours in a day, 168 hours in a week, and 365 days in a year.

I need to submit my load to Jesus EACH and EVERY day and ask him to strengthen me for the tasks by giving me his yoke and the burden he has for me for that day. I need to trust him that he cares more about all the little tasks and details than I do, and that he’s going to make sure they get done.

I need to ask for a God-perspective on everything and see the big picture.

I need to be thinking not about how do I get such and such a task done, but rather who can I develop with in the body of Christ to do this task that will bless them as well as disciple them.

Prayer

Father, I am yours. Strengthen me for the tasks at hand today. Help me see people the way you see them and truly be a man who equips the saints for the work of the ministry. For your glory, amen.

Leave a Reply

