Becoming a disciple: Nothing is hard for God

Scripture – 2 Kings 3:18

This is an easy thing in the eyes of the LORD

Observation

God was about to fill a desert valley with water. He emphasizes that this is an easy thing for him. In the previous verses, God had parted the Jordan twice, sent fire from heaven twice, and took Elijah up to heaven in a whirlwind.

What seems unlikely, impossible or straight up supernatural is easy for God. We under-imagine the power, might, awesomeness of God. Our Father. Nothing is impossible for God. More than that, it is all easy.

Application

I want this verse to go ahead of me every day. This is an easy thing in the eyes of the Lord. I see obstacles, barriers, problems; he sees no such thing. It’s easy in the eyes of the Lord. I need the eyes of the Lord. I need to trust that he has absolute power. I want trusting in his power to be easy for me and easy for the people I know.

Prayer

Father, nothing is hard for you. I am reminded today of your majesty and power. It can’t even be measured in human terms. You hold me in your hands and I am safe to trust in you. Make me useful and use me in any way you desire. I know nothing is hard for you and so like an innocent child with his dad, I trust in your power today. Happy Father’s Day! I love you. Thank you for the gifts of your word and your Spirit today. May people be changed and set free to love you with their all today. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

