Becoming a disciple: The Word

Scripture – 2 Timothy 3:16-17

All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.

Observation

This is why I study the Bible and do devotions.

I want to be a man of God, competent and equipped for every good work. Ingesting the word of God (daily bread) teaches me, challenges me, rebukes me, corrects me, redirects me and trains me in righteousness, which is godliness. Through it I become more like God each day.

This is why I study the Bible and do devotions.

Application

I need to never lose this perspective on why I choose to be taught each day by my Father through his word. It’s simple, it’s clear.

Prayer

Father, thank you for your word. Thank you for making it available to me to be taught and discipled by you each day. Let me never take it for granted; so many believers around the world don’t even have a copy of the Bible to feed from. I am blessed. Thanks for being a loving dad. Teach and train me to be a man of God today. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

