Becoming a disciple: Running the Race

Scripture – 2 Timothy 4:7

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.

Observation

We don’t know how long our race will be. It may be short and it might be long.

It will be a fight. Faith will have to be held onto tightly. The enemy of our souls will try and snatch it from our grasp.

Application

I want to run the race in such a way as to win the prize. I will need to fight my way to the finish line.

I will live a life of balance, so I do not burn out and collapse before the race is over. I will feed myself with the word of God every day so that I will be strong enough to beat down the enemy as he tries to snatch my faith away. I will cross the finish line with my faith in tact – but I know that I can only make it with brothers at my side, watching out for me, protecting me when I am weak as I protect them when they are weak.

Faith is trusting in another. In God the Father. In God the Son. In God the Holy Spirit. In the brothers and sisters of the family of God running the race by my side. I will choose to trust, to have faith, for I cannot do it by myself.

Prayer

Father, you are glorious. Thank you for faith today. Help me run at the pace you have crafted me for. Help me not to run too slow or too fast. Help me see the

Leave a Reply

