Becoming a disciple:

Scripture – Isaiah 11:9, 45:23

The earth will be filled with the knowledge of the LORD as the waters cover the sea.

By myself I have sworn, my mouth has uttered in all integrity a word that will not be revoked: Before me every knee will bow; by me every tongue will swear.

Observation

A promise of God. The earth will be FILLED with the knowledge of God. EVERY knee will bow and EVERY tongue will confess Jesus is Lord. Looking at the godless world we live in, it’s sometimes difficult to grasp the idea of every person acknowledging Jesus, yet it is promised and it will come about.

Application

As believers in the promises of God, we need to live as such, holding onto this promise. We can be courageous in sharing our faith and our story with those around us because whether now or later, we can be sure that every tongue will confess that Jesus is Lord. We must allow God to develop in us a love and compassion for those who do not know him, in order that we can share with complete humility the hope to which we cling. I need not be afraid. I need not be anxious about offending anyone. Their tongue will confess the truth at some point but if they do it with a willing and repentant heart that requires faith, the fruit of their confession will be of a different kind.

Prayer

Father, thank you for your promises. Thank you that the knowledge of you will one day cover the earth. Show me who I can share my hope with so that they might know you before you appear to judge the nations. I repent of all unholy thoughts, all impure motives, all unrighteous actions. I call upon you today for a fresh revelation of your promises. I confess with my tongue that you are Lord with bended knee. Fill me with the knowledge and the fear of God. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

