Becoming a disciple: Doing the right thing, every time.

Scripture – James 4:17

So whoever knows the right thing to do and fails to do it, for him it is sin.

Observation

What does it mean to “know the right thing to do”?

Every man searches for the truth. Some find it. But what do we do with it? There is a weight of responsibility that comes from knowing Jesus. He says, “if you love me you will obey what I command”. It costs a lot to follow Jesus. The right thing to do may not be the comfortable thing to do, the easy thing or the personally beneficial thing.

Ignorance is one thing. Knowledge that produces no change is sin. James challenges us not to be people who see a need and ignore it, patting people on the back and telling them “be warm and well-fed” as we watch them walk away naked and hungry.

Let us decide to want to know the truth, love and obey Jesus, and have the humility to refuse to fail to do the right thing.

Application

I see a lot of need and it’s often overwhelming because I don’t know what I can do to help. I need to press into my frustration and my lack of capacity, and to lean on God to do the work.

The right thing to do is always to ask God. He is the provider of all things. He loves people more than I ever could.

For me, I need to feel blessed that I have so many opportunities to ask God to do miracles in peoples’ lives. What a privilege!

Prayer

Father, help me not run away from opportunities to do the right thing today. Help me ask you to do a miracle every time. Keep me from being discouraged that I personally cannot fix every person’s problems and hardships. Use me as a signpost pointing to you today. Thank you for the privilege of serving you. I love you. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

