Becoming a disciple: Knowing who you’re being mentored by

Scripture – John 4:25-26

The woman said to him, “I know that Messiah is coming (he who is called Christ). When he comes, he will tell us all things.”  Jesus said to her, “I who speak to you am he.”

Observation

Jesus has come. Jesus is here. Jesus wants to tell us all things.

Jesus is the one who is speaking to us right now through his living word, “I who speak to you am he”.

This is why we do devotions: to enter into a conversation with Jesus, through which he wants to disciple us. As we spend time with him, allowing him to teach us all things, one small thing every day, we gradually become more like him because his word renews our minds, refines our character and disciplines our flesh.

Wow. I can’t get over the fact that the creator of the universe waits each day to be my teacher, my mentor and my friend.

Application

Although sometimes I need to be kickstarted, this gives me a renewed passion to be mentored by Jesus every day. If I had a piano teacher or a math tutor, and I just didn’t turn up for a lesson, pretty soon they would quit. And that’s just a piano teacher or math tutor! We’re talking about the king of the world. He waits for me every day. I need to honor him and remember that I GET TO BE MENTORED by the God of the Ages! What an incredible reality.

Prayer

Father, thank you for your patience with me. I am weak and stubborn. Thank you for a fresh dose of encouragement this morning to be mentored and discipled personally by you. Never let me take this privilege for granted. Thank you for your faithfulness even when I am unfaithful. You are the one worth pursuing, yet you pursue me. I am your son. Thanks for chasing me down. I pray you would be glorified in all I think, say and do today. In Jesus’ mighty name, amen.

Leave a Reply

