Becoming a disciple: Telling stories of Jesus

Scripture – John 5:15

The man went away and told the Jews that it was Jesus who had healed him.

Observation

Telling the stories. Telling the stories about what Jesus has done is so crucial. This is how we give glory to God: by telling of the stories of how Jesus has healed, provided, saved, encouraged, disciplined, challenged, given wisdom, talent, ability, opened doors, closed doors, comforted, been faithful.

Though it provoked persecution, God was glorified when the man told the Jews that it was Jesus who had healed him.

Application

I need to tell people all the time about stories. Stories of how God has been at work in my life and in the lives of my friends and family. I need to be diligent about this for two reasons. First, so that God is rightly glorified. Second, so that people who hear the stories will know and understand that God is a living God, and not a musty biblical figure that people in church talk about.

Prayer

Father, remind me today of the stories and the testimonies of your faithfulness, your provision, your miraculous powers, your gifts and your comfort. Be glorified by the stories I share today. May people around me know that I am passionate about you and that I actually know you because you and I have the stories that only come out of relationship with you. In the mighty name of Jesus, amen.

Leave a Reply

