Becoming a disciple: Letting God use you when you just don’t have all the goods to do it on your own

Scripture – Jeremiah 1:7

“Do not say, ‘I am only a youth’; for to all to whom I send you, you shall go, and whatever I command you, you shall speak.”

Observation

Jeremiah was a youngster. The son of one of the priests in Anathoth. God spoke to him clearly and told him that he shall go wherever God would send him and say whatever God would ask him to say.

God chose him:

He was young and still had a pure faith and trust in God.

He was unattached and had the freedom to go anywhere God asked.

He had nothing to lose so would say anything God asked.

So many young people feel like they have nothing to offer, like they don’t have the maturity, the degree, the family, the steady job, the ministry experience or the ‘right’ to be used  by God in mighty ways.

This verse is at once an encouragement and a challenge.

Application

I want to be even more ready, available and willing to be useful and used by God.

It is a scary but obedient prayer to say to God, “I will go wherever you ask and say whatever you give me to say”.

I choose not to live in fear but in complete obedience to God, to his every word.

Prayer

Father, you are my dad. Thank you for calling me to serve you in my youth. I did not have the experience, the education or the skills to do what you have done through me over the past 7 years. I lay my life down again before you and declare that I still do not have the experience, the education or the skills for what you have in store for me over the next 7 years. I trust you to work through me in ways that could never come from me. I want you to get the glory each and every time. I love you dad. In Jesus’ name, amen.

 

Leave a Reply

