Becoming a disciple: Asking for the gift of tears

Scripture – John 11:35

Jesus wept.

Observation

Jesus was moved to tears. Not so much by the fact that Lazarus was dead, because he was about to raise him from the dead, but by the compassion he had on Mary and the mourners – who had been suffering with grief for many days.

In our culture, men weeping is not seen as a sign of strength. It is more often seen as a sign of instability.

Something has been stolen from the men of this generation – the ability to express emotions through tears. It’s just something we don’t do.

For me personally, I can’t remember the last time I wept. I shed a tear of joy at the birth of my children, but when I hear about people who have died not knowing Jesus, people who have had great hardships, people who have died tragically, the devastation of civil wars around the world…I’m sad for them but there isn’t the compassion that wells up in tears.

Seeing stuff on the news every day, my heart has been desensitized to the pain out there.

Application

I want the gift of tears. I don’t want to be a blubbering mess every time I see roadkill, but I do want the gift of tears – to be able to have such a compassion that it brings me to tears, like it did Jesus.

I want to weep when I hear of someone who has died without meeting Jesus. I want God’s love for the people of Evergreen to bring me to tears.

Prayer

Father, I ask for the gift of tears today. Peel off any hardness I have acquired from my years on this earth. Help me feel the way you feel. In the name of Jesus, amen.

Leave a Reply

