Becoming a disciple: Knowing the one who makes the promise

Scripture – Jeremiah 17:7-8

“Blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD,
whose trust is the LORD.
He is like a tree planted by water,
that sends out its roots by the stream,
and does not fear when heat comes,
for its leaves remain green,
and is not anxious in the year of drought,
for it does not cease to bear fruit.”

Observation

This is such an amazing promise. Though scorching heat will come and seasons of drought will occur, as long as our trust is firmly established in God we will remain full of life and producing much fruit.

Trusting on God enables us to access the streams of living water which flow no matter what the circumstances around us. We can be confident that we can still live full lives and produce fruit in Jesus if we look to where are roots are getting their water.

Are we pining for a cool breeze or a fresh downpour from the circumstances in our lives?

Or are we continuing to draw from the word of God hidden in our hearts?

Application

In this life we will have trouble. Take heart for Jesus has overcome the world. Circumstances and the events happening around us may look frightening, but the only way to remain steadfast and sane is to put 100% of my trust in God. Trusting with everything just based on a promise may sound foolish unless you KNOW the one making the promise. Trust becomes easier when we KNOW the one making the promise.

Prayer

Father, thank you for investing in your relationship with me. I am sorry for neglecting it too often. I want to know you better than I know anyone else on earth. You are the only one I can truly trust. Plant my roots firmly next to your streams that my leaves may remain green and that I may produce much fruit no matter the worldly circumstances. Find my complete trust in you today. I am so thankful I know the one who makes the promise. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

