Becoming a disciple: Watching what dad does and doing it

Scripture – 1 John 4:19

We love because he first loved us.

Observation

We are called to follow the example of our Father.

He loved us – let us love one another. He forgave us – let us forgive one another. He was patient with us – let us be patient with one another. He was kind to us when we were rebellious – let us be kind to those who betray us. He believed in us before we believed in ourselves – let us believe in others before they believe in themselves. He gave us gifts we did not deserve – let us give gifts to people who don’t deserve them. He laid down his life for us whether or not we would ever accept it – let us lay down our lives for those who may never see it or accept it.

Application

I need to take the Scripture seriously and pray for help to actually apply these things to my life. I say I want to be more like Jesus and I know I can become more like him through the power of the Holy Spirit, but when there are obvious ways I can imitate God, do I really do do them?

Prayer

Father, thanks for being my example. You are amazing – so different from the world. Give me a daily chance to be trained in the way of the Lord – to practice doing what you would do – just because I want to be more like my dad. My life is in your hands. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

