Becoming a disciple: Watchman’s warning

Scripture – Ezekiel 33:6

But if the watchman sees the sword coming and does not blow the trumpet, so that the people are not warned, and the sword comes and takes any one of them, that person is taken away in his iniquity, but his blood I will require at the watchman’s hand.

Observation

People are dying spiritual deaths all around us. We know that. We can see it. We can see the sword coming and we know there is only one way to spiritual life in God – Jesus.

This is a clear command to warn people, to tell them about the way to life. We are called to be watchmen.

Application

This isn’t easy. Most people don’t want to be warned. People feel like it’s interference in their life. It’s an invasion of their privacy and an assault on their rights to have their own opinions.

Just as the department of transport is required to put a sign on the road before a sharp corner warning people and advising them to slow down, and just as a doctor will warn their patients to stop smoking or drinking if it’s drastically affecting their health, we need to feel the same urgency and responsibility to warn people of the spiritual death they face and the salvation paid for by Jesus.

I need to get the right perspective on this so that I do not let the enemy con me into being timid and apathetic to the spiritual condition of the people I meet.

I must be a watchmen who is bold enough and cares enough to warn people, even if they never pay any attention. My responsibility is to warn and show the way of truth not to force them to repent or to believe there is even any danger at all.

Prayer

Father, give me boldness, clarity and compassion to warn people even when it’s unpopular. Put your love for people in me so that I don’t brush past opportunities you give me with the excuse of the busyness of life or the argument of “they don’t want to hear it”. I trust you to work through me. I am completely yours. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

