Becoming a disciple: Realizing how incredible God really is

Scripture – Psalm 147:5

Great is our Lord and mighty in power; 
his understanding has no limit. 

Observation

God is great. God is mighty in power. God’s understanding has no limit.

Omniscience and omnipotence are long words many people have heard of before. Some have even heard them used to describe God. But rarely do the meanings of these long, intellectual sounding words make it from head to heart.

God has every ounce of power in the world. God has every penny and every dollar in the world. He is everywhere and right there with us at the same time.

God’s understanding has no limit. There is nothing he doesn’t understand – both from a head and a heart perspective.

Application

God understands my problems. He understands my needs. He understands my desires.

He understands quantum physics, molecular biology, aeronautical engineering and everything in between.

I need to focus on seeing my Father, my God as the one who really does know everything and the one who wants to share some of the things he understands with me. Wow. My Dad is the richest, kindest, smartest, most brilliant person ever.

Let’s all stop seeing Jesus as just the little baby in the manger or just the guy hanging naked on the cross, but rather as the most powerful, brilliant king of the world.

Prayer

Father, help me change the way I pray. You are all powerful and all understanding. There is nothing you cannot help me with. Fill me with passion for you today. I need you and I love you. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

