Becoming a disciple: Letting Jesus define your character

Scripture – 1 Corinthians 15:33

Do not be misled: “Bad company corrupts good character.” 

Observation

You’d think it would be obvious – that bad company corrupts good character – but the same was true 2000 years ago as it it today.

Why do we work so hard to develop our good character just to squander it by hanging out with people who are a bad influence on us?

Why do we live under the impression that we are immune to outside influences?

Application

I need to be acutely aware of what I’m allowing myself to be influenced by. My good character is not invulnerable. It can be corrupted. As I lead others, I need to be a watchful eye for them, making sure they are not putting themselves in the position to have their character corrupted by bad company.

Prayer

Father, I need the eyes of Christ. I need acute spiritual discernment to detect bad company in my life and in the lives of those I lead. Thank you for this warning today. Keep my eyes and my heart fixed on Jesus – he is the ultimate influence on my character. I want to be like him. Give me the mind of Christ today. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

