Becoming a disciple: Trusting in the Deliverer

Scripture – 2 Corinthians 1:9-10

Indeed, in our hearts we felt the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead. He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us. On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us.

Observation

Jehovah-Mephalti – the Lord my Deliverer. Our God is a deliverer. He wants us to rely on him in everything, even when the situation seems hopeless.

Paul and Timothy set their hope on him – no back up, no plan B. They thought they were going to die but they understood that the God who was theirs is a God who raises the dead.

Application

I set my hope on him who is able. I set my hope on him who raises the dead. I trust and believe that he will continue to deliver me.

Prayer

Father, thank you for being my deliverer. You are Jehovah-Mephalti. Help me to remember this no matter how “deadly” the situations I face seem to be. You are Faithful and True. You do not change. You are a rock I can stand on through any storm. I give you every prayer of my heart. In Jesus name, amen.

Leave a Reply

