Becoming a disciple: Praying in the Spirit

Scripture – Romans 8:26-27

In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints in accordance with God’s will.

 

Observation
It is good to pray in tongues. When are minds are foggy and we don’t have the words, the Spirit of God is always willing to pray. The Spirit of God always prays in accordance with God’s will so we know we’re not praying for something that God doesn’t want.
Application
I want to pray more in the Spirit. It’s easy to feel I don’t have the time to sit and organize my thoughts, but I need to realize that praying through the Spirit of God is powerful prayer.
My mind is unfruitful when I pray in the Spirit so I can actually think about and do other things while I’m praying. I need to do this more.
Prayer
Father, give me unction. Unction to pray in the Spirit on all occasions, when I just don’t know how to pray. You say “eagerly desire the spiritual gifts”. I have prayed this often before, but I pray for it again, that you would give me the gift of interpretation, that I might start by understanding what your Spirit is praying to you through me, and then develop into being able tin interpret other people’s tongues for the edification of the body of Christ. I want all I do to be for your glory. Your will be done today in my life and in the lives of those you influence through me. In Jesus’ name, amen.
Leave a Reply

