Becoming a disciple: Honoring the brothers

Scripture – Romans 12:10

Be devoted to one another in brotherly love. Honor one another above yourselves.

Observation

Paul writes this immediately after exhorting the church to use the spiritual gifts (Prophesying, Serving, Teaching, Encouraging, Giving, Leading and showing Mercy). He uses the words “let him” to mean both “release people to function in their gifts” as well as an exhortation to those with the different gifts that they “must” use their gifts for the building up of the church.

Then, almost as if Paul could sense the reader getting excited about functioning in the gifts they have and feeling good about themselves, he reiterates (in verse 3 he warns them not to think of themselves more highly that they ought) the command to “be devoted to one another and honoring each other above themselves”.

Paul is saying, “yes, flow and function in your individuals gifts but remember to consider everyone else better and more honorable that yourselves” so that a spirit of mutual encouragement, humility and service would be at the core of the church.

Application

I love Romans 12. I love the exhortation to each person to function in their gifts. I love the call to remember we are brothers and to honor one another as such.

I want to see a deeper culture of honor develop in church I serve. I know it needs to start with me. I often fail to truly honor my brothers like I should. I repent of thinking and speaking dishonorably about my brothers and sisters in Christ. I need the Holy Spirit of God to work in my life.

Prayer

Father, I am yours. My mind, my lips, my hands and my feet are yours. I desire to function in the gifts you’ve given me but I want to first become truly devoted to my brothers and truly honor them above myself. You are a heart changer. You are an attitude changer. You are my father. Work in me Holy Spirit. All for your glory, dad. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

