Becoming a disciple: Stars don’t complain

Scripture – Philippians 2:14-15

Do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe.

Observation

This exhortation comes straight after the famous verse about working out our salvation with fear and trembling. The backdrop of this encouragement to do everything without complaining or arguing, is a call to remember that it is God who works in us to will and to act according to his good purpose. What this means is that before we can understand how to do everything without complaining, we must first understand that we need to submit our lives to God and allow him to work in us. Otherwise, there’s no chance we could do it on our own strength.

However, once we get this, we will be able to do everything without complaining or arguing. What is the result of this? Being blameless, pure and shining like stars – all totally the grace of God.

I see it like this: we are like a glass bowl with a candle inside. When we complain, the inside of the glass bowl gets dirty, and when we argue the inside of the glass bowl gets scratched. Pretty soon, the light from the candle is just a faint murky haze.

We are not called to be a murky haze but a brilliant pure bright light in the midst of the darkness of a crooked and depraved generation!

Application

God is challenging us to trust him in an even greater way with the financial resources he has placed in our care. I am determined to work out my salvation with fear and trembling. Just like working out any muscle, there’s effort and there’s soreness afterwards, but it’s a good sore because I know I am growing.

I trust God to be in control of his own resources. I know he doesn’t waste a penny. I am excited to see him continue to work in me to will and to act according to his good purpose. Because of this, I am able to do everything without complaining or arguing (though it has taken me a while to get there) and I desire to be pure and blameless, shining like a bright star in a world of darkness.

Prayer

Father, you know me. Father, you love me. Thank you. It’s all yours. Thank you for giving me time to learn and to work it out with fear and trembling. I receive your peace. I love you, in Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

