Becoming a disciple: Becoming more like Jesus

Scripture – John 11:54

Therefore Jesus no longer moved about publicly among the Jews. Instead he withdrew to a region near the desert, to a village called Ephraim, where he stayed with his disciples.

Observation

I’m imagining Jesus and his friends traipsing out towards some podunk hamlet called Ephraim on the edge of the desert wasteland, to go and spend the last few days before he’d be arrested and killed in. He could have gone anywhere in the world. He could have transported himself to any beautiful place on the planet. He could have done anything. Yet, he was so faithful to the mission his Father had sent him on, he spent his last days with his friends in the armpit of Judah. It’s amazing to see his focus and his obedience.

Application

I need to be more focused and more obedient. I need to look at Jesus’ example for every situation in my life. He invested in relationships and never lost sight of the mission.

I will make a plan to intentionally invest in my most treasured relationships in 2012.

I will continue to correct back to the greater mission of the Church and what God has called me specifically to do.

Prayer

Father, I hear your voice. Please continue to bring me back to the simple things of my faith and my trust in you. Never let me be enticed with the what ifs and the shoulda coulda woulda mentality. Bring to my mind the people I need to invest in this coming year. Thank you for being patient with me. I don’t deserve it, but thank you. Have your way in my life today, in Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

