Becoming a disciple: you’ve got to want it

Scripture – Deuteronomy 5:32-33

So be careful to do what the LORD your God has commanded you; do not turn aside to the right or to the left. Walk in obedience to all that the LORD your God has commanded you, so that you may live and prosper and prolong your days in the land that you will possess.

Observation

Discipleship. It started with God laying out all the practical applications of loving him and loving others as themselves (ten commandments and the rest of the law) within the community of Israel. It continues today with the same command to love God with everything and love others as ourselves, with the added call to add people from all nations to the community, by helping them understand that the way into the community has been paid for by Jesus, and to teach them to obey all of God’s commands (out of love for him and not from religious duty).

Application

Nothing has really changed except now all people are paid for and invited into the family of God through Christ. As sons and daughters in his family, we can practically live out our faith by making God our focus and doing unto others as we would have them do to us; to love others first, without expectation of return, because we were first loved.

Jesus boiled down the entirety of the Law and the Prophets to loving God and loving others coupled with the command to introduce people to himself, enabled by the Holy Spirit.

I want to make sure every time I give my life over to inspection, correction, encouragement and strengthening by the Word of God, I press in until I receive my practical, tangible orders for the day, even if it just to be still and rest. I passionately desire to grow as a disciple, a follower, an imitator, a son, a soldier and a priest in my relationship with God the Father through Jesus the Son – and I know that by putting my faith into action is what will help me grow.

Prayer

Father, find me ready and willing to grow as a disciple. Challenge me and encourage me. Help me hear your voice more clearly tomorrow than I do today. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

