Becoming a disciple: knowing that others will be encouraged by your gifts

20120409-100502.jpg

Scripture – 2 Corinthians 9:2

For I know how eager you are to help, and I have been boasting to the churches in Macedonia that you in Greece were ready to send an offering a year ago. In fact, it was your enthusiasm that stirred up many of the Macedonian believers to begin giving.

Observation

Macedonia = northern Greece. Greece = Achaia = southern Greece.
Generosity is something to be celebrated. If it brings glory to God, it’s right to let others share the story of your generosity. Humility must be present lest one falls into pride, yet as Paul explains, it was hearing about the ‘southerners’ giving generously that encouraged the northerners to start giving in the first place.

Application

I need never shy away from using the gifts God has given me. As long as they are used for the glory of God and not my own, I never know who might be encouraged to ask for, or use, a gift for the first time.

prayer

Father, thank you for your encouragement today. I love being a son in your kingdom. Help me see and seize opportunities to bring you glory using the gifts you have given me. I pray many will be encouraged, not only by me, but also encouraged to ask or and use the gifts you have for them to build up the body of Christ. In Jesus’ mighty name, amen.

Leave a Reply

