Becoming a disciple: being of the same spirit with those you serve

20120412-102107.jpg

Scripture – 1 Chronicles 2:16 and 2 Corinthians 12:18b

Their sisters were named Zeruiah and Abigail. Zeruiah had three sons named Abishai, Joab, and Asahel.

For we have the same spirit and walk in each other’s steps, doing things the same way.

Observation

Joab, Abishai and Asahel were David’s nephews. Family. I imagine David investing into them as kids. They became his mighty men and trusted commanders. Titus was a mighty man for Paul, able to go on his behalf, like a brother, having the same spirit and doing things the same way.

Application

To have mighty men if God, like brothers, who walk in each others steps, who have the same spirit, who can lead on ones behalf, what a gift!
I want to be the mighty man, the Abishai, the Titus, the Joab, the Timothy for the leaders I serve. I also want to surround myself with these kinds if leaders who can be mighty men around me.

Prayer

Father, let me be a mighty man of God like the nephews of David and like Titus. Shape me into the leader and the disciple you have called me to be. Help me understand team and flourish in it. All I do is for you. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

