Becoming a disciple: Friendship with the King

Scripture – Matthew 26:8-9, 14-15

When the disciples saw this, they were indignant. “Why this waste?” they asked. “This perfume could have been sold at a high price and the money given to the poor.” 

Then one of the Twelve—the one called Judas Iscariot—went to the chief priests and asked, “What are you willing to give me if I hand him over to you?” So they counted out for him thirty silver coins.

Observation

Up until this point, the disciples had seen Jesus do incredible miracles that benefitted people – healing people, casting out demons, encouraging people to sell their possessions and give to the poor. The perfume poured over him by this woman was worth around $30,000 – and may have been passed down through the generations, with both sentimental and financial value. Maybe it was the woman’s last piece of security, her last fall back option. She used it to give Jesus probably the most expensive bath ever taken. The disciples didn’t see worship, they didn’t understand the significance of the act, they saw waste – they were indignant!

Can anything that is done for Jesus ever really be a waste?

Watching this act of worship exposed the deeper motives of their hearts. Some may have been thinking that Jesus had lost his mind. Some may have thought that he was losing his edge. Some may have considered that he was wavering in his commitment to the poor. One thought that it was time for him to jump of the Jesus train and try his luck cashing in what he could while he still could. Judas. He heads off to the guys who were willing to give him money for telling them where Jesus was going to be.

He took 30 silver coins for a relationship with God. It turned out to be a very bad decision.

Application

Time with the king. Time building friendship with the king. Time focused on seeing the bigger picture rather than getting stuck in the details and protocols of ministry. We all have the potential inside of us to be a Judas. It’s hard to hear and even harder to believe, but if we don’t recognize our capacity to betray and to sell out, we are foolish.

I need to refocus my passion and my time to continually developing a friendship with the king, with Jesus, with the one who loves me more than I could ever imagine.

Prayer

Father, you see every moment. You know my life. You know me. You know how hard I find it to maintain discipline in my relationship with you. I don’t want to be a son of phases. I want to be a son who lives in your house, who resides in your presence. Jesus, I want to develop a friendship with you like I’ve never had. I want to walk through each day like an adventure that you and me are taking together. I need your help to stay focused. You are the one I most desire. I pray this statement is reflected in everything I do. Thanks for never giving up on me. I love you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

