Becoming a disciple: Choosing to overlook insults

Scripture – Proverbs 12:16

A fool shows his annoyance at once,
but a prudent man overlooks an insult.

Observation

Yesterday I showed myself to be a fool. It had been a crazy day and the whole family was taking a nap mid afternoon. There was a knock on the door. We are asleep. Another knock. Then a couple of minutes of silence. Then more knocking. Then 5 more minutes of silence. Then more knocking. And more. I was ticked. I was tired. My kids were going to be woken up from their naps. I was not thinking nice thoughts about the person knocking.

Finally, groggy, I go to the door. No-one there. I walk around the corner. It’s a junior high aged boy I’ve never seen before and a high school girl from the youth group.

I muttered something in their general direction about everyone being asleep, waving them off.

Application

A fool shows his annoyance at once. That was me.

A prudent man overlooks an insult. I want that to be me.

I have no idea if they truly needed something or if they were just playing knock-down-ginger. I didn’t care at the time – but I want to be a man who is wise and overlooks insult. Like Jesus.

Prayer

Father, thank you for using real life situations to disciple me. Thank you for changing my life every day. Please help me Holy Spirit to be prudent and not foolish; to overlook insults and not show my annoyance at once. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

