Becoming a disciple: Seeing in 16:9

Scripture – Proverbs 16:9

In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps.

Observation

I think it’s interesting this verse is chapter 16, verse 9. It reminds me of aspect ratio. It’s so easy to get cloistered away in our hearts. Planning is so much fun. Dreaming and envisioning are great but without action they remain just dreams and visions.

Seeing the world in 16:9 lets me see the full picture. Wow, I am so glad the Lord determines my steps.

Determines. Directs. Establishes. That’s what God does to my steps. My job is to make plans in my heart within the 16:9 view of life in which God promises to lead me, to direct me, to establish me.

Application

To always see the world, my life, and the kingdom in 16:9. To resist the temptation to dwell in my heart and in my plans. God directing and establishing is not always pain-free, but it is always good.

Prayer

Dad, you are so good to me. Thank you for discipling me today. Thank you for the encouragement of this promise – that you will determine, direct and establish my steps and the steps of those around me. Fulfill your promises today. For your glory. In Jesus’ almighty name, amen.

Leave a Reply

