Becoming a disciple: Utter dependence.

Scripture – Ecclesiastes 5:15

Naked a man comes from his mother’s womb,
and as he comes, so he departs.
He takes nothing from his labor
that he can carry in his hand.

Observation

We come into the world with nothing to offer, naked and totally dependent.

We enter the next the same way.

Why do we think “growing up” and “maturing” means becoming less dependent upon God? Why do we spend our lifetimes accumulating things and achievements whilst neglecting relationships?

The only thing we can take with us are relationships. The only thing we can leave of worth is changed lives.

Application

I am asking myself if my budget, my schedule, and my prayers reflect this truth….or if my actions are betraying my convictions.

I believe there is total freedom through internalizing this scripture.

Naked a man comes from his mother’s womb,
and as he comes, so he departs.
He takes nothing from his labor
that he can carry in his hand.

Whose life have I added value to this week, this month, this year?

How much time do I spend becoming more self-dependent?

Applying this to my life means a total life re-evaluation. I desperately want to Rhema word of God to change me.

Prayer

Father, you are so good to me. Thank you for making me a son, in your family, and of the kingdom. Help me as totally dependent on you today as the day I was born and the day I will die. Use me to make a difference. I am yours. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

