Becoming a disciple: getting my household in order

Scripture – 1 Timothy 3:12

A deacon must be the husband of but one wife and must manage his children and his household well.

Observation

It’s so important to get our households in order. Our homes, our family relationships, our finances, our wills and estate planning, our parenting philosophy – we can never be fully effective serving in the house of God if our own households are not managed well.

Application

My wife and I have never made our wills. It’s easy to put off, assuming that making wills is something for old people. I am challenged by this scripture to get my household in better order. I am going to get our wills done. If anyone is interested in how I am doing it, I simply downloaded the will forms from Dave Ramsey’s website (bit.ly/LGIQTe).

Prayer

Father, thank you for helping me understand the spiritual within the practical. Thank you for being patient with me as I get my household in order. I hope this will make me more effective in your house and in your kingdom. I love you in Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

