Becoming a disciple: Letting Jesus be with me

Scripture – 2 Timothy 4:22

The Lord be with your spirit.

Observation

In his final written words to Timothy, his son in the faith, Paul prays these words over him. May the Lord be with your spirit. Tim had a great work ahead of him – yet his mentor and father in the faith was close to death. We don’t know if Timothy ever made it to Paul before his death. We don’t know how he handled the death of his friend and mentor. We don’t know what he did the rest of his life. We know he often was sick and had stomach problems. But we do know that Paul prayed that Jesus would be with his spirit.

Sometimes it’s hard not knowing the full story. Not knowing all the answers to all the questions. I am fascinated by what might have happened to Tim and what his ministry looked like for the decades he may have lived beyond Paul. Maybe he died young.

I wonder if he came under the apprenticeship of another great man of faith or if he apprenticed many under him.

On a completely different note, I have found myself thinking a lot about the fires in Colorado Springs this week. Places I know are now just ash. The homes of friends are destroyed. But to see a community rally around each other, putting others before themselves, is an amazing thing to see and hear. Just like I wonder what the ensuing years of Timothy were like, I find myself wondering what the coming years in Colorado Springs will be like.

I am yet again reminded of the blessing that comes from persecution. I am yet again challenged to realize that true community can really only exist when the people have a common mission, battle, goal or struggle.

Application

I need the Lord to be with my spirit. I receive the prayer Paul prayed over Timothy. That Jesus would be my one and only guide. That my spirit would not only hear but heed his leadings.

Prayer

Jesus. You are it. Nothing more. Nothing less. Today. Tomorrow. Beyond. I don’t know the future but I do know you. Thanks for the gift of knowing you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

