Becoming a disciple: Eager to do good. Eager to love.

Scripture – 1 Peter 3:13-14

Who is going to harm you if you are eager to do good? But even if you should suffer for what is right, you are blessed. 

Observation

Good question, Peter. Who, if we really think about it, is going to come against us for just doing good, loving people expecting nothing in return? No-one. Probably. But even if…we are blessed. Before we knew him, Christ died for us. He loved us all, with no guarantee we would ever love him back. And yet. He still decided to love.

Application

We are called to, commanded to, released to, invited to…love God with all our heart, soul, mind and strength. And to love our neighbor as we love ourselves.

I want to love people, specifically and tangibly, expecting nothing in return. I want to love first. I want to be like my Father and love my neighbor as myself. I don’t expect to be harmed in doing so, but even if I am, I count myself blessed. Really blessed.

Prayer

Father, dad. Thank you for inviting me on this great adventure with you. Loving a world that doesn’t think it deserves to be loved. Loving eagerly expecting nothing in return. It cannot be done without the power you give through your Holy Spirit working in me. Thank you for first loving me. I choose to follow you today. Teach me to love like you love. In Jesus’ incredible name, amen.

Leave a Reply

