Scripture – 1 Peter 5:5

Young men, in the same way be submissive to those who are older. (NIV)

In the same way, you younger men must accept the authority of the elders. (NLT)

Likewise, you who are younger, be subject to the elders. (ESV)

Young people, in a similar way, place yourselves under the authority of spiritual leaders. (GWT)

Observation

The greek word to be submissive, to be subject, to placing oneself under the authority is “hypotagete”. This same word is used in James 4:7 “submit yourselves to God, resist the devil and he will flee from you”.

In our society, we have been taught to view words like submission and putting ourselves under the authority of someone else, as words of weakness. Our western culture has wanted to throw off the “bondages of authority” in the pursuit of freedom. And yet, God tells us that there is true freedom under the authority of others. First himself, then those he has appointed as authorities over us. We seem to “endure” our time under authority, eagerly awaiting the day when we get to be our own authority, like it’s some symbol of maturity.

The wisdom of God is mind-blowing. I just think of the damage to the kingdom what would have been avoided if people had lived in submission to the elders in their life. Instead, often times Christians are looked upon as hypocrites, because we claim we have put our trust in Jesus and have submitted our lives to him, yet we still want to be our own authority.

Application

I am so thankful for the authority figures in my life. I am grateful for the living word of God that is ever-wise and ever-guiding. But I am also so blessed to have men who are my covering and my authority, who can tell me “no”, not just because they are there to help me mop up any messes, but because there is such freedom in submission. I must make sure I always have men of wisdom under whose authority to place myself.

Prayer

Father, you are such a good dad to me. I gladly place my life under your authority and the authority of the elders who cover me. Teach me to be a son under your authority every day. Train me to be the best dad I could be. Thank you for your word today. In Jesus’ name, amen.

 

Leave a Reply

