Becoming a disciple: Following the example of Jesus

Scripture – John 1:10

He was in the world, and though the world was made through him, the world did not recognize him.

Observation

Imagine it. What if we were the person who built a business empire from nothing, just for everyone who worked for the business, was blessed by the business or was positively affected by the business, to deny you had anything to do with it? What if, as a great-grandfather-patriarch of an incredible family, every member of the family disowned you and denied you were even related?

Of all the heartbreaking moments in Jesus’ life, growing up in and around everything and everyone he had made, with zero recognition, must have been one of the hardest. As fully human, Jesus then experienced the feeling of being totally unrecognized for what he had done. The entire world was made through him. But he was not recognized as such.

Application

What have I done or created that I have not been recognized for? What legitimate acknowledgement I have I not received? How has this affected my attitude?

If I live for Jesus, desiring to know him better and become more and more like him, there will be many times I am not recognized for the things I do or create. I have an example to live by – Jesus – who lived sinless despite the gross affront of not being recognized for who he was.

Prayer

Father, thank you for your patience with me. Thank you for the example of Jesus. Help me follow his example every day. Be glorified by thoughts, words and actions today. I love you. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

