Scripture – Luke 21:34-35

But take heed to yourselves and be on your guard, lest your hearts be overburdened and depressed (weighed down) with the giddiness and headache and nausea of self-indulgence, drunkenness, and worldly worries and cares pertaining to [the business of] this life, and [lest] that day come upon you suddenly like a trap or a noose;

For it will come upon all who live upon the face of the entire earth.

Observation

There is a real need to be on our guard. Not so much to be guarded of other people but rather of the anxiety and worries of this world. Jesus wants us to take this seriously because “it will come upon all who live upon the face of the earth“. There is no escape from  self-indulgence, drunkenness (giving over control to something else) and the cares pertaining to the business of this life. No matter if you are a an upper-class Belgian aristocrat, a Tibetan Buddhist monk, or a farmer in Iowa, these worries will come upon you.

Application

I must be on my guard. I must not live in naïvety that I am immune or hidden from these worries. But in Jesus I am able to withstand these worries, to lay them at his feet and in so doing keep my heart from being overburdened or depressed by their weight.

Sometimes I do feel overwhelmed. And if I think about the root cause, it is from the worries and cares of the business of this life. The sky and the earth will pass away but the Words of God will never pass away. I know if I begin to feel overwhelmed, I need to guard my heart and my mind, to put back on the helmet of salvation and refocus my attention on Jesus who is by nature a Savior, who can lift me up above any worry or care lest my heart become overburdened and depressed.

Prayer

Father, thank you for your timely words today. It is so good to be in your presence and in your word. I pray for wisdom today that I might see in advance the potential threat of my heart becoming overwhelmed by the cares of this life. I love you. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

