Becoming a disciple: starting blind

Scripture – Mark 10:50

Throwing his cloak aside, he jumped to his feet and came to Jesus.

Observation

Blind guy. Bartimaeus. Begging outside the gates of Jericho. All he had to his name was the clothes he was wearing and a cloak which was his bed, his pillow, his comforter, his seat. It was all he had.

He demonstrated his faith by throwing aside the only thing that he had, the only thing that gave him any sense of comfort. His identity as a blind guy was wrapped up in his cloak. Throwing it aside meant there was no going back. This was it. He’d never be able to find it again anyway.

Application

What am I still holding onto that is my cloak, my safety blanket, that prevents me from fully flinging myself at Jesus’ feet? Have a fully recognized how truly blind I was? Can I truly see with fresh eyes or am I simply ambling along with the crowd, following the voice of Jesus, carrying my cloak.

I want see fully. I want eyes to see not just ears to hear.

Prayer

Father, I recognize how blind and pathetic I am. Show me any blankets I’m still holding onto and give me courage and faith to throw them aside never to be found again. I fling myself at your feet today, crying out for mercy and for my eyes to be opened. I want to truly see Jesus so I can not just follow at a distance but be right by his side. Thank you for Bartimaeus son of Timaeus and his story. Love you God, amen.

Leave a Reply

